Roundup

No, it’s not the notorious Glyphosate based Monsanto weedkiller brand, but a quick run down of what I’ve been up to. This evening I added a long overdue new post to my ‘old’ blog, Considering Birds, about a mysterious garden invader.

Speaking of overdue, last week a new entry in my A-Z of British Insects emerged, over a year since the last. The series is ably hosted by the good folk at conservationjobs.co.uk, who have very kindly featured the A-Z on the homepage of their shiny new website. Do go take a look!

Meanwhile, on behalf of the Centre for Wildlife Assessment and Conservation I’ve been extending deserved congratulations to my fellow Reading PhD student Jess Neumann, who not only handed in her thesis in the last couple of weeks but had a paper published in Landscape Ecology. A great achievement and I’m sure the first of many! It’s the second recent scientific publication in which I’m mentioned in the acknowledgements section. Now to work on getting that all-important promotion to authorship…..

I've had my head stuck in a microscope this past week, but the wonderful thing about moth traps is they bring the new species to you. This is a white spotted pug, and it may not look that thrilling but I think it is lovely!
I’ve had my head stuck in a microscope this past week, but the wonderful thing about moth traps is they bring the new species to you. This is a white spotted pug (Eupithecia tripunctaria), and it may not look that thrilling but I think it is lovely!
Leave a Reply

